All Saints CE Primary School is a Voluntary Aided Church of England School located in the Diocese of Exeter. We cater for boys and girls from 4 -11 years of age and are maintained by Devon County Council. As a voluntary aided school, the governing body is the admission authority and they determine the priorities for admission if the school receives more applications than places available.

We have a one term entry system so that children start school full time at the beginning of the Autumn term as rising fives. They are given the opportunity to attend several sessions before their date of entry to ease the transition into full time schooling. The reception teacher makes a home visit prior to them starting full time.

The Admissions Process

All Parents who wish to express a preference for a place at All Saints CE Primary School must do so using the Local Authority Common Application Form (CAF). This is available online at or within the First Step primary admissions booklet – copies of which are available by calling My Devon call centre on 0845 155 1019.

All applications must be made to the Devon Local Authority by the closing date; 15th January of that year. In addition, if you are applying for a place on religious grounds and believe that you fall into criterion 4 (see below), you are also asked to complete a ‘Supplementary Information Form’. These forms are available directly from the school and should be completed and returned to the school by no later than 15th January of that year.

The local authority coordinates admissions for all primary schools and we will either write to you or email you to advise of the school place you have been allocated for your child.

We are a one form entry school with a planned admission number (PAN) of 20.

Our admissions policy can be viewed via the link below.

Allocation of places

Places are allocated according to the following criteria which are, in priority order:

  1. Looked After Children or previously Looked After Children who were immediately adopted or made the subject of a child arrangements order or a special guardianship order.
  2. Children for whom an exceptional medical or social need to attend this school is demonstrated.
  3. Children who live in our designated area, with a sibling on roll at the point of application.
  4. Other children who live in our designated area.
  5. Children who live outside our designated area, with a sibling on roll at the point of application.
  6. Children who live outside our designated area, who regularly attend (or whose parents are) regular attenders of a Christian Church.
  7. Other children.

In year admissions

If the school is asked to admit a child who is above Reception age, the same criteria for entry will apply. Applications for other year groups will be granted if there is a place available. If the year group is full places will be allocated according to the ‘In Year admissions policy which forms appendix A to Devon’s Coordinated Scheme’.

If the school is unable to admit the child because this will exceed the PAN, he/she will be placed on a waiting list prioritised as outlined above in points 1–7. A waiting list may be held for each year group.


Where parents are refused a place at All Saints CE Primary School they have the statutory right to appeal. Further details about the appeals process are available from the clerk to the Independent Appeals Panel, County Hall, Exeter – 0845 155 1019. Or they should appeal in writing to: Diocesan Director of Education, Director’s Office, The Old Deanery, The Cloisters, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1HS.

A copy of the school’s admissions policy is available here:

Admissions arrangements for 2017/18

You can find our finalised policy for admissions during the academic year 2017-18 below

Secondary Transition

The secondary schools in our locality are: Axe Valley Community College in Axminster, The Woodroffe School in Lyme Regis, Colyton Grammar School and Holyrood School in Chard.

The following links will provide information about each school:

The Axe Valley Community College

Colyton Grammar School

The Woodroffe School

Holyrood School